You may pay your court costs/attorney's fees at the court collections payment window, which is located in the basement of the Bexar County Courthouse at 100 Dolorosa, San Antonio, Texas 78205.
Show All Answers
As indicated on the citation, you have 20 days from the date of service to file an answer with our office. We cannot calculate or give you the due date for your answer. It can be submitted to our office via eFiling, mailed or delivered in person the Bexar County Clerk’s office, Attn: Civil Central Filing Department, 100 Dolorosa B: 04, San Antonio, TX 78205.
Submit your request through eFiling, mail or in person. Please include case number, address, and a fee of $1.00 per page.
The jurisdiction for a small claim is under $10,000 and you can file at one of the Justices of the Peace.
The documents in the case are sent to the Bexar County Clerk’s Civil Central Filing department. The appeal means that the case will be heard by the County Court at Law Court as a new case. You will receive a notice requiring you to pay the filing fee; if the filing fee is not paid, the case will be sent back to the Justice of the Peace Court. Either party may request a hearing date. The party setting the case is responsible for notifying the other party of the date, time and location the case is set for. To set a hearing, contact the senior court operations clerk at 210-335-3175 or 210-335-3179. It is recommended that you consult an attorney or have an attorney represent you.
Bexar County Clerk’s jurisdiction is up to $200,000.
County Court At Law jury cases are set on Monday's or Tuesdays following a Monday holiday.
County Court At Law non-jury cases and motions are set on Thursdays and Fridays at 9:30 AM in presiding county court room B.23.
You must submit a filing fee of $40.00 for a jury demand. Parties must attend mediation.
The filing fee for an occupational driver's license is $247.00 dollars. Consult an attorney. The clerk may not assist in the preparation of any application or petition, nor can we advise any litigant if the application is filed incorrectly. If the court does not grant the occupational license, the filing fees are not refundable.
You may obtain copies of documents by the following options:
The fee for a non-certified copy is $1.00 per page. The fee for a certified copy is $5.00 for the certification and a $1.00 per page of the document. Request for copies can be made in person, by eFiling, or by mail. Please make sure to provide the name and case file number, if available, for each request. Checks or money orders are to be made payable to: Lucy Adame-Clark, Bexar County Clerk.
Civil CasesLucy Adame-Clark, Bexar County ClerkATTN: Civil Central Filing Department100 Dolorosa, Suite 104San Antonio, TX 78205
Probate CasesLucy Adame-Clark, Bexar County ClerkATTN: Probate Department100 Dolorosa, Suite 104San Antonio, TX 78205
Criminal CasesLucy Adame-Clark, Bexar County ClerkATTN: Criminal Central Filing Department100 Dolorosa, Suite 104San Antonio, TX 78205
In order to receive a letter testamentary, a will MUST be filed and admitted to probate. To file a will for probate, please consult an attorney. The law prevents us from providing legal advice to any person. Please see the Bexar County Probate Courts website for more information.
You must contact an attorney to file a guardianship. While you may represent yourself in some lawsuits, you may not represent others. Under Texas law, only a licensed attorney may represent the interests of third-party individuals or entities, including guardianship wards and probate estates. Please see the Bexar County Probate Courts website for more information.
You can conduct name searches for probate records here.
A person may deposit their will for safekeeping with the County Clerk for a one-time fee of $5.00. The will is placed in a sealed envelope and kept in a secure storage area. The deputy clerk does not review the contents of the will. The clerk will issue a certificate of deposit for the will upon receipt. The will may be removed at any time by the Testator (person for whom the will is created). After the Testator passes, any person named on the outside of the sealed envelope, may withdraw the will upon proof of identification and proof of death of the Testator.
You may contact the Criminal Filing Department at 210-335-2238. You may also search this information using the Bexar County Clerk and District Clerk Court Records Search.
There are bulletin boards located in the Bexar County Justice Center that lists court information. You may find your name on the bulletin board and then proceed to the court listed by your name. If your name is not listed on the bulletin board, you may want to obtain assistance from the County Clerk’s Criminal Filing department located in the basement of the Courthouse.
A bond forfeiture case is filed when a misdemeanor defendant failed to appear for a hearing or trial. If an answer is not filed in a timely fashion, the plaintiff may take a default judgment. For case information or citation inquiries, contact our Bond Forfeiture Department at 210-335-2237.
For Pro Se filers, a Petition for Non-Disclosure can be filed with the County Clerk’s Criminal Filing Department located in the basement of the Bexar County Courthouse. The filing fee for a Petition of Non-disclosure is $260.00. (Section 411.081 Government Code and 133.154 Local Government Code) When filing, please provide the original filing as well as two copies.
Contact the Bexar County Sheriff’s warrant division at 210-335-6030 for information pertaining to warrants.
Misdemeanor background checks are performed at:Bexar County Clerk’s OfficeCriminal Central Filing Department100 Dolorosa, BasementSan Antonio, TX 78205The fee for a background search is $5.00 for the first 10 years and $1.00 for each additional year.
To obtain a misdemeanor background search by mail, send a letter of request including the following information:
Court cost and fines are in addition to any time served and are included in all judgments unless the judgment indicates "time and money to run concurrent".
If the case was not appealed you may contact the court reporter that was assigned to that court. If the case was appealed you can purchase a copy from the County Clerk’s office if the court reporter filed a transcript.
When your case is set on the docket both you and your attorney must be present.
You may contact the County Clerk’s Criminal Filing office at 210-335-2238