The Canary Islanders


Earliest civilian colonists of San Antonio, this nucleus of pioneers from the Canary Islands formed the first organized civil government in Texas and founded the village of San Fernando de Bexar in 1731.

Following a sea and land voyage of over a year, these weary travelers arrived at the Presidio (Fort) of San Antonio early on March 9, 1731. Totaling 56 persons, they had emigrated to Texas from the Spanish Canary Islands near Africa, by order of King Philip V.

On July 2 they began to lay out a villa (village), choosing a site on the west side of the Plaza de las Yslas (present Main Plaza) for the church and a site on the east side for the Casa Real (government building). On July 19 the Captain of the Presidio, Juan Antonio de Almazan, read to the Islanders the decree of the Viceroy naming them and their descendants “Hijos Dalgo” – Persons of Nobility.

The heads of the 16 families who settled in San Antonio were: Juan Leal Goraz, Juan Curbelo, Juan Leal, Antonio Santos, Jose Padron, Manuel de Nis, Vincente Alvarez Travieso, Salvador Rodriguez, Jose Leal, Juan Delgado, Jose Cabrera, Juan Rodrigez Granadillo, Francisco de Arocha, Antonio Rodriguez, Lorenzo and Martin de Armas, and Felipe and Jose Antonio Perez. 


 29° 25.439′ N, 98° 29.619′ W. Marker is in San Antonio, Texas, in Bexar County near 100 Dolorosa, San Antonio TX 78205. View Map

More information:

The Historical Marker Database


Map with archives 2

Heritage Header Website Opens in new window