Historical Commission

The Bexar County Historical Commission was established in 1967 to preserve, protect, and promote the rich history of Bexar County. The Commission initiates actions and cooperates with state and local programs to encourage awareness of historic preservation and foster appreciation of Bexar County’s historical significance. The responsibilities of Counties to preserve and promote Texas history was created by State Statute to ensure that all functions of these County Historical Commissions had local oversight over the five areas and had committees dedicated to the following: See Chapter 422 (Texas Historical Commission)

The Commission has five standing committees:


Here is your opportunity to get involved by joining the Bexar County Historical Commission!

Please call (210) 335-6637 for additional information.

Meeting Information

The Bexar County Commissioners Court appoints the members to two-year terms in January of odd-numbered years. Meetings are held in the Bexar County Courthouse, 2nd floor, Double-Height Courtroom Conference Room, on the first Wednesday of each month at 1:00 PM unless noted otherwise on this website. Please call 210-335-6637 for additional information on meeting schedules and agenda.

Agenda & Minutes

View Bexar County Historical Commission Agenda & Minutes


View Archived Minutes (2010 - 2017)

Bexar Heritage LogoBexar County Historical Commission
100 Dolorosa, #311
San Antonio, TX 78205

Ph: 210-335-6637

  1. Commission Members

    Belinda Gavallos

    Commission Chair

    Joseph DeLeon

    Angelica Docog

    Alan Ernst

    Michael Gallegos

    Mickey Killian

    Geremy Landin

    Sue Ann Pemberton, FAIA

    Jesus R. (Corky) Rubio

    Mario Salas

    Pauline Rubio

    Associate Members

    Dr. Scott J. Baird
    Dr. David Carlson
    Chris Fullerton
    Robert Garcia
    Kay Hindes
    Gary W. Houston
    Jack Reynolds
    Jose G. Jimenez
    Brother Edward J. Loch, S.M.
    Ricky Reyes

    Bexar County Staff - Liaison

    Mari Tamez

Mission San Jose, Bexar CountyMission San Juan, Bexar County Texas